January 7, 2025 Workshop Bonifay, Florida

The Holmes County Board of Commissioners met for a Workshop on the above date with the following members present: Commissioners Clint Erickson, Wilmer Stafford, Mitch Johnson, Brandon Newsom and Commissioner Earl Stafford, Chairman of the Board.

Nate Nolin, County Attorney, and David Corbin, Project Director, were present.

Angie Purvee, Finance Director, was present and kept the minutes.

Chairman Stafford called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. David Corbin, Project Director, led the prayer and pledge.

No changes were made to the posted agenda.

Whitney Milburn, Board Administrative Assistant, discussed the recommendations made by the Florida Department of Transportation (DOT) to increase the approval probability of Holmes County SCRAP/SCOP applications. Discussion of this matter included providing more details about the needed road improvement in the applications, completing the numerous open projects which is hindering approval of new applications and dividing the projects into smaller phases. The Board agreed by consensus to vote on the following submittals at the next Regular Session:

- 2025 SCRAP Submittals:
  - 1. County Road 179 Phase 2
  - 2. County Road 179 Phase3
- 2025 SCOP Submittals:
  - 1. Bonifay Chipley Road Phase 2
  - 2. County Road 10A

Tim Parson, Liberty Partners, stated that a prioritized list for legislative appropriations is needed by a February 7th deadline. Discussion of this matter included the following:

- Submitting a short list of \$1 million projects due to the State's lean budget
- Obtaining a quote for the Holmes County Jail expansion
- Submitting the jail expansion in phases over several years
- Having engineers view the County's parks for input on possible improvements
- Using FWC grants or boater improvement funds for park improvements

The Board agreed by consensus to discuss this matter further at the second January Regular Session once more details and information have been collected.

There being no further business at this time, the meeting was adjourned at 5:40 p.m.

Chairman