February 9, 2016 Special Session Bonifay, Florida

The Holmes County Board of Commissioners met in a Special Session on the above date with the following members present: Commissioner Mickey Locke, Commissioner William Parish, Commissioner David Whitaker, Commissioner Bobby Sasnett, and Commissioner Danny Powell, Chairman of the Board.

Jeff Goodman, County Attorney, was present. Alice Vickers, Deputy Clerk, was present and kept the minutes. Chairman Powell called the meeting to order at 11:38 a.m.

Attorney Goodman discussed this session being held to rank the two (2) firm's qualifications for the Construction and Engineering Inspection (CEI) services for the Tobe Retherford Road SCOP project.

Erica Jernigan, Senior Project Engineer, DRMP Inc., discussed her firm's qualifications. Discussion included the scope of the project to include paving of the dirt road, clearing needed, earthwork, drainage improvements and signage, the possibility of a box culvert if the budget allows and protection of the native wetlands species.

Cliff Knauer, Preble-Rish Inc., introduced Eric Pitts and advised he is in charge of all the inspectors. Mr. Knauer discussed his firms qualifications and the challenges on the project to include the shallow ground water table, springs that seep into the road which will require much clearing and filling and a 60' right of way, pond areas that cross the road, possible placement of a box culvert to replace the bridge, access for farmers during construction and monitoring of the wetland permitted areas.

The Board took a five minute recess to allow Attorney Goodman to tally the rankings. Mr. Goodman advised that Preble-Rish had ranked the highest. He advised he will enter into negotiations with Preble-Rish and bring a proposed contract to the next meeting.

Commissioner Sasnett offered a motion to approve moving forward with Preble-Rish for the CEI. Commissioner Whitaker offered a second. The motion passed unanimously.

(Ranking summary)

There being no further business at this time the meeting was adjourned at 12:03 p.m.

1 Andre

ann favel

Chairman